Driving Without Insurance in Mississippi
Vicksburg, MS

May 10, 2019  ·  By Beth Maggio of Hennessey, Thames & Leavitt Insurance Agency, Inc.

At Hennessey, Thames & Leavitt in Vicksburg, Mississippi we understand how the law works.

According to Mississippi Code section 63-15-4, driving without proof of insurance could lead to conviction of a misdemeanor, imposition of a $500 fine, and suspension of driving privileges for up to one year (or until the offender can demonstrate that he or she is properly insured).

Keep in mind that these penalties will come on top of serious financial consequences if you cause a car accident and you do not have insurance.

Auto insurance protects you from financial losses such as vehicle repairs, medical bills, and legal services that could result from an auto accident. Automobile insurance remains a very important purchase for most Mississippians. To get the best value for your money, you must take responsibility for your auto insurance purchase.

Car Insurance Requirements in Mississippi

Under Mississippi's compulsory automobile liability insurance system, all drivers must maintain liability insurance and carry proof (paper or electronic) that the vehicle is insured. These rules require the following minimum amounts of coverage:

  • $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
  • $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
  • $25,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.

Note: Technically, Mississippi vehicle owners can also post a bond in these same amounts, or make an equivalent cash or security deposit at these minimums in order to demonstrate financial responsibility, but the vast majority of people choose to purchase a liability insurance policy.

Liability Coverage

Liability coverage pays the medical bills, property damage bills, and other costs of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians who are injured or have their vehicle damaged in a car accident you cause, up to coverage limits. You can (and in some situations should) carry more coverage to protect you in case a serious crash results in significant car accident injuries and vehicle damage. Once policy limits are exhausted, you are personally on the financial hook, so higher insurance limits can help protect your personal assets in the event of a serious crash.

Your liability coverage will kick in if any family member is driving your vehicle, or if you have given someone else permission to use it. It will likely also cover you if you get into an accident in a rental car.

Remember that liability coverage does not apply to your own injuries or vehicle damage after a Mississippi car accident. You will need different (additional) coverage for that if you are involved in a car accident and no one else's coverage applies to your losses. For example, collision coverage (optional in Mississippi) can pay for repairs to (or replacement of) your damaged vehicle after a car accident. Note that collision or comprehensive might be required under the terms of a vehicle lease or financing agreement.

Contact Us

Contact Hennessey, Thames & Leavitt today to discuss your liability limits. We can be reached by phone at 601-636-5560, email: info-hennessey@leavitt.com. Check us out on Facebook or our website leavitt.com/vicksburg.



Beth Maggio Insurance Agent

Beth Maggio

Hennessey Thames & Leavitt
1001 Belmont St.
Vicksburg, MS 39180
601-636-5560


Contact Us

  • 601-636-5560
  • 1001 Belmont Street
    Vicksburg, MS 39180
  • Office Hours
    8 am to 4:45 pm M–F
  • EMAIL

Navigate Our Site

About Us
Request Quote
Blog
Contact

© 2019 Leavitt Group Enterprises · Legal Information